AOR – Frédéric Slama

la_darkness1.jpeg

What was the biggest fun during the making of the last album?

The whole album was fun to do with great people, but I can’t pinpoint one specific moment in particular. A new CD is like giving birth to a baby, so it’s a lot of hard work and you have to watch what you’re doing constantly. But I’m always smiling when I’m around all these big stars, and I still wonder why they hang out with me ha! ha!

If we want to know you, which song do we have to listen to? And why?

I don’t know if you’re talking about my own songs or in general. But if it’s from the last AOR album “L.A Darkness”, I would recommend listening to ” Heart In Pawn” sung by the great Steve Overland from the band FM. I’m very proud of the lyrics and the melody is I think among my best ones. In top of that Mr. Overland sings like a God!

The music industry has changed a lot (or so they say). What did it bring you? And what not?

The music industry is going downhill with all these illegal downloads. When you think that one month before the release of the CD, it was available on thousands of illegal sites, it doesn’t push you to record many more albums. With the age of the Internet, everybody wants your music for free and right now. They are not willing to pay for a song as much as they would pay for a cup of coffee. In these conditions more and more artists are having a hard time to survive if they don’t tour. The positive side is that you can have access to thousands of musicians and resources concerning the music business. But fans will have to realize one way or another that their favorites artists won’t survive long if they keep on stealing their music!

Who is the best musician in the world nobody has heard of yet? And why will this change very soon?

I would have loved to say: “me” but this is not the case unfortunately ha! ha! I’m thinking about many unrecognized musicians out there but one in particular called Sarah Fontaine from the French band Chasing Violets. With her sister, Mélissa Fontaine, they recorded 2 great albums that I wrote and produced with the help of top musicians around the world. Sarah have a huge potential of becoming a great singer with a worldwide recognition. She’s like a baby bird who have to learn a lot of things before flying on her own, but she have an incredible voice that deserves to be put in the limelight. With Chasing Violets, Sarah Fontaine proved she was capable of the best as she was still learning everything and she’s making progresses every day. I’m sure in a couple of years, it’s someone the music industry will get very interested by in Europe. Of course she will have to work hard day after day to prove the world she’s a one of a kind girl & singer.

 

She tells you she will decide on a 5-song-mixtape if there is going to be a second date. Which 5 would you put on?

I’ll try to play it safe if I ever want to see her again by taking classics from the best, hoping she will love this kind of music.

1) Is this love – Whitesnake

2) Waiting for a girl like you – Foreigner

3) Girl can’t help it – Journey

4) Best of what I got – Bad English

5) You’re my obsession – AOR (’cause she certainly will be ha! ha!)

What’s up for the next couple of months?

Working on a couple of reissues, writing for artists, recording a new album, touring & enjoying your music blog! 🙂

 

Check Frédéric’s website

Leave a Reply

